Giving opinions

Below are some useful phrases for giving opinions during a seminar. Make a note of the phrases because you will be expected to use them when we discuss the statements about robots in class.

Agreeing

  • Yes, definitely.
  • That’s a good point.
  • Yes, I think so, too.

Partial agreement

  • That may be true, but don’t forget that ….
  • There’s a lot in what you say but ….
  • That’s one way of looking at it but ….

Neutral opinions

  • I take the view that…
  • The way I look at it is that …..
  • As far as I’m concerned ……..

Tentative opinions

  • Don’t you think that…?
  • Isn’t it possible that…..?
  • It seems/appears to me that ….

Disagreeing

  • But there’s no evidence for that.
  • Well I don’t quite see it like that.
  • I’m afraid I’m not convinced.

Leave a comment